Surprise at a zebra crossing

Following on from my last post in which I told of my rule following, this evening on my way home, I stopped for a pedestrian to cross a zebra crossing.

He stopped and said “thank you” to me and I returned with “you’re welcome”. It struck me as I cycled away that as a pedestrian at a zebra crossing he has right of way and so really had no need to stop and say thank you – It struck me that he was surprised that i had stopped for him, which just goes to show that there are many of us road users out there who aren’t following the rules of the road – but should be!

Come on guys – we can do better!

One thought on “Surprise at a zebra crossing

  1. Pingback: A Striped History – The Story Of The Zebra Crossing | Ground to Ground

Leave a Reply

